ifta events

site search



IFTA Newsletter


IFTA Screening - The Goldfinch

When: 25th September
Venue:Light House Cinema

From acclaimed Irish Director John Crowley (‘Brooklyn’), The Irish Film and Television Academy in association with Warner Bros. Pictures presents a first-look screening of the beautiful adaptation of Donna Tartt’s globally acclaimed and beloved bestselling novel, The Goldfinch.

The last time 13-year-old Theo Decker saw his mother, she was gliding away from him into another gallery of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Seconds later, a terrorist bomb exploded destroying priceless pieces of art…and shattering Theo’s life forever. The tragedy changes the course of his life, sending him on a stirring odyssey of grief and guilt, reinvention and redemption, friendship and even love.

Throughout the turbulent years, as he grows into adulthood, Theo secretly clings to a single, precious object—his one tangible connection to the mother he lost on that terrible day—a priceless painting of a tiny bird chained to its perch: The Goldfinch.

A beautifully wrought coming-of-age story, intimate in its emotion and sweeping in its design, The Goldfinch is adapted from Donna Tartt’s novel of the same name, which spent more than 30 weeks on The New York Times Best Sellers list and won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize as well as the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction.

The film features a multigenerational cast led by Ansel Elgort (‘Baby Driver’) as Theo Decker and Academy Award winner Nicole Kidman (‘The Hours’, ‘Big Little Lies’) as Mrs. Barbour. The film also stars Oakes Fegley (‘Pete’s Dragon’) as Young Theo, Aneurin Barnard (‘Dunkirk’) as Boris, Finn Wolfhard (‘Stranger Things’, ‘IT’) as Young Boris, with Sarah Paulson (‘The Post’, ‘American Crime Story’) as Xandra, Luke Wilson (‘The Royal Tenenbaums’) as Larry, and Jeffrey Wright (HBO’s ‘Westworld’) as Hobie.

The Goldfinch is produced by Nina Jacobson (‘The Hunger Games’ films, ‘American Crime Story’) and Brad Simpson (‘World War Z’, ‘American Crime Story’). Mari Jo Winkler-Ioffreda, Kevin McCormick, Sue Kroll and Courtenay Valenti served as executive producers. The screenplay is by Oscar nominee Peter Straughan (“Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy”), based on the novel by Tartt.

Directed by John Crowley Written by Peter Straughan (based on the novel by Donna Tartt) Cast Ansel Elgort, Nicole Kidman, Oakes Fegley, Aneurin Barnard, Finn Wolfhard, Sarah Paulson, Luke Wilson and Jeffrey Wright