Steve Fanagan

Academy Member

Steve Fanagan is a BAFTA and Emmy-nominated sound designer, supervising sound editor, and re-recording mixer who has strengthened a broad spectrum of projects across film and television. Most recently, his sound design work can be heard in BBC/Hulu's intimate television adaptation of the bestselling novel, Normal People, directed by Lenny Abrahmson. He has also lent his talent to HBO's Game of Thrones, A24's Room, and PBS documentary The Farthest. Steve's other recent project is Radioactive with Iranian director Marjane Satrapi (Persepolis), a film about the life and legacy of Marie Curie, released by Studio Canal and Amazon Studios in 2020.

After serving as sound effects and foley editor on the first season of Game of Thrones, Steve was recognized for his craft with an Emmy nomination and an MPSE Golden Reel Award; Steve's work can be heard across all 10 episodes of the season. In 2016, he was nominated for an HPA Award (Hollywood Professional Association), an International Music+Sound Award and an MPSE Golden Reel Award for his work on Lenny Abrahamson's Oscar-nominated drama, Room. The story required intricate sound design to communicate the characters' isolation, the film relies heavily on sound design to express time and shifting space in the extreme, confined and soundproofed setting of Room. He has also been recognised with six IFTA Awards, most recently for Best Sound for Swan Song.


Awards & Recognition

Swan Song
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2022)
Normal People
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2021)
  • BAFTA Television Craft Award Nominee, Sound: Fiction (2021)
The Farthest
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2018)
Tomato Red
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2017)
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2013)
Albert Nobbs
  • IFTA Winner, Best Sound (2012)
Game of Thrones
  • Primetime Emmy Nominee, Outstanding Sound Editing for a Series (2011)

Key Credits

  • Conversations with Friends (2022)
  • An Cailín Ciúin (2021)
  • Swan Song (2021)
  • Normal People (2020)
  • Tomato Red: Blood Money (2017)
  • The Farthest (2017)
  • Sing Street (2016)
  • Room (2015)
  • Frank (2014)
  • Citadel (2012)
  • Albert Nobbs (2011)
  • Game of Thrones (2011)