IFTA announces winners of 2016 IFTA Film & Drama Awards

10th of April 2016

The winners of the 2016 IFTA Awards for Film and Drama were revealed tonight at a star-studded awards ceremony at the The Mansion House in Dublin City Centre. 

The event was hosted by Chief Executive of the Irish Film and Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, who congratulated all winners and nominees working in the Irish film and drama industry. These include directors, writers, actors and filmmakers whose work was showcased throughout the evening. The IFTA Awards are the highlight of Ireland’s film and drama calendar and they celebrate the very best of Irish screen talent across film and television.

Hosted by actress and comedienne, Deirdre O’Kane, the Awards Ceremony was recorded by official media partner, TV3, and will be televised on Sunday, April 10th.

Guests who walked the red carpet this evening included Chris O’Dowd, Mia Goth, Jack Reynor, Natalie Dormer, Sarah Greene, Ruth Bradley, Martin McCann, Neil Jordan, Moe Dunford, Van Morrison, Amy Huberman, Andrew Scott, Barry Keoghan, Miriam O’Callaghan, Cathy Belton, Panti Bliss, Clive Standen, Charlie Murphy, Victoria Smurfit, Orla Brady, Mary McGuckian, Eva Birthistle, Evanna Lynch, Paddy Breathnach, Simon Fitzmaurice, John Crowley, Ben Cleary, Catherine Walker, Dara Devaney, Seán T Ó Meallaigh, Barry Ward, Mark O’Halloran, Emma Donoghue and Stephen Fingleton.

Oscar nominated actor Liam Neeson was in Dublin to receive the IFTA Outstanding Contribution to Cinema Award – recognition for his celebrated 30 year career in cinema. Neeson was presented the award by the President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, with tributes flowing in for Liam from Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg amongst others.

Distinguished actress, producer and humanitarian Roma Downey also received the Irish Diaspora Award presented to her by musician and fellow humanitarian Bob Geldof. The award is presented by the Academy in partnership with the Ministry of Diaspora Affairs within the Department of an Taoiseach.  Tributes paid to Downey – best known for playing Monica in Touched By An Angel and for producing epic mini-series The Bible (watched by over 100 million people) as well as for her humanitarian work – includes US Television Presenter Regis Philbin and actor Jack Huston.

Big winners on the night include Room, produced by Element Pictures in Ireland, which won seven awards in total including Best Film, Best Director for Lenny Abrahamson and Best Script for Emma Donoghue. On the drama side, Abú Media’s Irish language series An Klondike won four awards in total including Best Drama and Best Actor for Dara Devaney. Director of The Survivalist Stephen Fingleton won the Irish Film Board Rising Star IFTA Award while the George Morrison Feature Documentary IFTA went to Ken Wardrop’s Mom & Me while Ben Cleary’s stunning short Stutterer won Best Short Film.


Best Film: Room

Best Director Film: Lenny Abrahamson for Room

Best Script Film: Emma Donoghue for Room

Irish Film Board Rising Star: Stephen Fingleton

Best Lead Actor Film: Michael Fassbender for Steve Jobs

Best Lead Actress Film: Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor Film: Jack Reynor for Sing Street

Best Supporting Actress Film: Jane Brennan for Brooklyn

George Morrison Feature Documentary: Mom & Me

Best Animated Short: Geist

Best Short Film: Stutterer

Best Drama: An Klondike

Best Director Drama: Neasa Hardiman for Happy Valley

Best Writer Drama: Marcus Fleming for An Klondike

Best Lead Actor Drama: Dara Devaney for An Klondike

Best Lead Actress Drama: Ruth Bradley for Rebellion

Best Supporting Actor Drama: Moe Dunford for Vikings

Best Supporting Actress Drama: Sarah Greene for Penny Dreadful

Best Director of Photography: Cathal Watters for Viva

Best Costume Design: Joan Bergin for Vikings

Best Editing: Nathan Nugent for Room

Best M.A.C. Make-Up and Hair: An Klondike

Best Original Music: Stephen Rennicks for Room

Best Production Design: Tom Conroy for Legend

Best Sound: Room

Best VFX: The Frankenstein Chronicles (Screen Scene)

Best International Film: Spotlight

Best International Actor: Leonardo Di Caprio for The Revenant

Best International Actress: Brie Larson for Room

The IFTA Film & Drama Awards ceremony will be broadcast on TV3 on Sunday, April 10th at 9pm.