ifta events

site search



IFTA Newsletter


Gráinne Seoige to host the IFTA Awards on Virgin Media One 







    The Irish Film & Television Academy is delighted to announce that Gráinne Seoige will host the 2021 Virtual IFTA Awards, broadcast on Virgin Media One, Sunday, July 4th at 10pm. 

    Having recently returned to Ireland from South Africa, Gráinne is excitied to take the reins of the 2021 Virtual IFTA Awards and to host the proceedings on a night when Ireland sees the cream of the Irish filmmaking community duly acknowledged for their great achievements across film & drama.  Following on from the success of last year’s Virtual Awards show, which saw international guests such as Martin Scorsese, Liam Neeson, Pierce Brosnan, Daisy Ridley, Ruth Negga, Andrew Scott, Caitriona Balfe, Chris O’Dowd among others participate in the show, the Academy will soon announce the 2021 lineup of international Guests for this year’s virtual show.  The 2021 Nominations were announced on Tuesday, 15th June.

    Following in the footsteps of previous IFTA Hosts, Deirdre O’Kane, Caroline Morahan, Simon Delaney, Victoria Smurfit, Ryan Tubridy and Jimmy Nesbitt, Gráinne brings with her an incredible range of experience and impeccable presenting style and skill.  She is one of Ireland’s foremost and distinguished Broadcasters, TV presenters and Journalists. She has worked with Virgin Media (and TV3), RTÉ, TG4 and Sky News Ireland, making her the only television personality to have worked with all four Irish television stations.  Most recently Gráinne guest hosted Virgin Media’s The Six O’Clock Show, and has presented a range of television shows over the years including Seoige, the All Ireland Talent ShowUp for the Match, the People of the Year Awards,Gráinne Seoige’s Modern Life, and Great Irish Journeys about the Irish famine.  

    Gráinne has also presented three UK breakfast television shows; ITV's breakfast show GMTV; she was Features Editor on Daybreak, and she also presented Sky News Sunrise with Eamonn Holmes.

    Commenting today on the announcement as the IFTA host Gráinne said: “I’m absolutely thrilled to be hosting the IFTA awards this year.  I’ve watched the Irish industry blossom over the years and have seen first-hand how IFTA has championed, nurtured and recognised Irish screen talent.  It's a real honour to have been asked to host such an amazing awards show, especially in a unique studio environment, and to be a part of celebrating this incredible wealth of Irish filmmaking talent.

    CEO of the Irish Film & Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, welcomed Gráinne into her new role saying: “We’re delighted that Gráinne will be taking the helm at this year’s Awards Show.  She’s the real deal, a bright spark and such a professional. We’re excited to have her as our host this year with her West of Ireland charm and no doubt there’ll be the cúpla focail on the night to welcome our guests”.

    Nominees in the running this year include Jessie Buckley, Aisling Franciosi, Ciarán Hinds, Colm Meaney, Clare Dunne, Gabriel Byrne, Lola Petticrew, Brendan Gleeson, Andrew Scott, Fiona Shaw, Nika McGuigan, Nora-Jane Noone, Adrian Dunbar, Niamh Algar, Eve Hewson, Moe Dunford, Catherine Walker, Dervla Kirwan, Fionn O'Shea, Tristan Heanue, Sarah Greene, Seana Kerslake, among many others. 

    This year’s awards will take place in a unique studio setting, and the Ceremony will bring the glitz and glam of Hollywood into our living rooms with a stellar line-up of A list stars presenting Awards. 

    Bill Malone, Virgin Media Television’s Director of Content, said of this year’s awards: “Supporting and championing the best in homegrown TV, film and drama is at the very heart of what we do at Virgin Media Television. And we are delighted to once again shine a light on the very best of this industry in another year of truly exceptional talent”.

    Ireland’s Film and Drama sector has consistently delivered top-notch work to audiences in Ireland and around the world.

    Nominations for this year’s best film include Paddy Slattery’s debut feature Broken Law, an electrifying thriller focusing on two brothers on opposite sides of the law that crackles with energy; Dating Amber, David Freyne’s uncompromising yet hilarious LGBTQ coming-of-age tale set in 90’s Ireland, led by the irresistible chemistry of its leads; Herself in which Phyllida Lloyd directs lead actress Clare Dunne’s script, balancing female grit and steel with warmth and tenderness to deliver an inspiring and hopeful tale; Vivarium Lorcan Finnegan’s ingenious and relentless sci-fi horror, that delivers thrills and scares and keen social commentary with equal aplomb;  Cathy Brady’s debut Wildfire, a powerful and occasionally shocking exploration of a unique sisterly bond, deftly explored through the incredible chemistry and performances of Nora-Jane Noone and Nika McGuigan, in what would tragically be her final performance; and WolfwalkersCartoon Saloon’s gorgeous and profound animated Celtic fable, executed with a uniquely Irish style to convey a universal and timeless message of empathy and friendship.

    Further details about the show and international guest presenters will be announced shortly. Due to Covid-19 restrictions, there will be no physical IFTA Awards Ceremony until March 2022, in keeping with Covid guidelines and best international practice. 

    The 2021 IFTA Awards, hosted by Gráinne Seoige, will be broadcast on Virgin Media One, at 10pm on Sunday, July 4th.