Caroline Morahan to Host IFTA Film & Drama Awards

The Irish Film & Television Academy (IFTA) is delighted to announce that Irish actress and TV Presenter Caroline Morahan will host the IFTA Film and Drama Awards on May 24th. The Awards Ceremony will take place at the Round Room of the Mansion House and will be broadcast on TV3.

IFTA's first host was actor James Nesbitt in 2003 for the first three years and followed by RTÉ’s Ryan Tubridy for a further three years and Victoria Smurfit took the helm in 2010 followed by Simon Delaney in 2011. Last year's ceremony was co-presented by Simon Delaney and Laura Whitmore.

CEO of the Irish Film & Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, welcomed Caroline into her new role saying,
“The Academy is delighted to introduce Caroline Morahan as the host of the 12th annual IFTA Awards Ceremony on May 24th. Caroline has seen first-hand the IFTA Ceremony evolve from humble beginnings in 2003 and she has participated in many capacities over the years. She is a hugely talented actress of stage and screen and a seasoned TV presenter. Now based in Los Angeles, Caroline continues to be a great supporter of the home industry and is very well loved by her peers for her vibrant, warm and witty personality. We look forward to Caroline hosting a great night of celebration of Irish film and drama."

Commenting today on the announcement the new IFTA host said:

"It's a real honour to have been asked to host the IFTA Awards. It is such an important and prestigious event celebrating a wealth of homegrown talent in the film and television industry."

Caroline recently made her debut at the Abbey Theatre in the leading role of Miss Hardcastle in Oliver Goldsmith’s She Stoops To Conquer. She received rave reviews for her performance in this sell-out production which ran for six weeks. Her previous theatrical performances include Pity The Proud Ones at the Los Angeles Theatre Centre and the mock opera I, Keano, Olympia Theatre and Anglo - The Musical Olympia Theatre.

Screen outings for the Dublin-born actress include What About Love (co-starring Andy Garcia and Sharon Stone), the Irish-American feature A Kiss For Jed, Thomas Rennier’s Lionhead and Michael Kiniron’s short film, I Don’t See You Anymore. She also worked with Shia LeBeouf on his controversial film, Howard and she featured in the A&E pilot Big Mike, co-starring Greg Grunberg.

Caroline launched her TV career with RTE's The Fame Game. From there she went on to co-present RTE’s hit fashion series Off The Rails with Pamela Flood, going on to host other TV shows such as The Fame Game, Chance To Dance and Class Act and she has previously also presented The IFTA Red Carpet Show for RTÉ.

Caroline is a graduate of the Betty Ann Norton Theatre School in Dublin, and holds a degree in Communications Studies from Dublin City University.

The IFTA Film & Drama Awards will honour the finest work produced by Irish screen talent in the past 12 months. The nominees in 25 IFTA Award categories were announced 29th April and amonsgt the 2015 shortlist are: Domhnall Gleeson, Michael Fassbender, Colin Farrell, Deirdre O’Kane, Aidan Gillen, Lenny Abrahamson, John Carney, Stephen Rea, Terry McMahon, Gerard Barrett, Frank Berry, Ciaran Donnelly, Dearbhla Walsh, Moe Dunford, Liam Cunningham, Charlotte Bradley, Sarah Greene, Andrew Scott, Jimmy Nesbit, Sinead Cusack, Jack Reynor, Jamie Dornan, Tom Vaughan Lawlor, Charlie Murphy, Maria Doyle Kennedy, among many.

IFTA 2015 also will see filmmaker Jim Sheridan receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, a tribute to his career that spans 30 years with credits that include My Left Foot, The Boxer, In America, In the Name of the Father, The Field, Brothers, Some Mother’s Son.

This year TV3 will deliver coverage of all the excitement around the Nominees, International Guests and Winners from the Ceremony and the Red Carpet in an exclusive (non-live) one hour ‘Awards Special’ programme.

Images for press