ifta News

site search



IFTA Newsletter


2024 IFTA Winners Announced

Congratulations to the nominees and winners of the IFTA Awards 2024 hosted by the Irish Film & Television Academy, which will air Monday night on RTÉ. The 21st Anniversary of the IFTAs was a star-studded affair with host Baz Ashmawy at the helm. 

The evening featured appearances by high-profile Irish and international guest presenters representing the very best in world-class filmmaking, such as Oscar-nominated actresses Lily Gladstone and Kerry Condon, as well as Liam Cunningham, Fionnula Flanagan, Caitriona Balfe, Kneecap, Aidan Quinn, Neil Jordan, Patrick Bergin, Alisha Weir, Jason O’Mara, Clinton Liberty, Demi Isaac Oviawe, Alex Murphy, Michael McElhatton, Nadia Forde, Amy-Joyce Hastings, Pollyanna Mcintosh, and Catherine Martin TD, Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media.

That They May Face The Rising Sun, adapted from John McGahern’s novel about life in rural Ireland, won the top award for Best Film. Directed by Pat Collins, the film is released in Irish cinemas next Friday.

Oscar-winner Cillian Murphy was in attendance to pick up his award for Lead Actor in a Film for Oppenheimer, for which he also won the Oscar in March. Murphy also collected the Best International Film trophy for Christopher Nolan’s epic film.

Oscar-winning filmmaker Neil Jordan presented renowned Irish actor Stephen Rea with the Irish Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award, for his outstanding contribution to the Irish and international screen industry, across both film and television.

Actress Siobhán Cullen was announced as the 2024 Fís Éireann / Screen Ireland Rising Star for her roles in Obituary, The Dry and the upcoming Netflix series Bodkin.

Best Actress in a Film was awarded to first-time winner, Agnes O’Casey, for her role in gothic thriller Lies We Tell, which also took home Best Director Film for Lisa Mulcahy and Best Script Film for Elisabeth Gooch.

On the Drama side, KIN was a big winner, taking home Best Drama, Lead Actress in a Drama for Clare Dunne, Supporting Actress in a Drama for Maria Doyle Kennedy, Best Director Drama for Kate Dolan, and Best Script Drama for Peter McKenna.

First-time winner Éanna Hardwicke picked up Actor in a Leading Role - Drama for his chilling performance in The Sixth Commandment, while Richard Dormer won Actor in a Supporting Role -  Drama for Northern Irish police thriller Blue Lights.

Actor in a Supporting Role - Film was awarded to Paul Mescal for his performance in All of Us Strangers, with Actress in a Supporting Role - Film awarded to Alison Oliver for her wonderful work in Saltburn.

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award went to The Days of Trees from director Alan Gilsenan and producer Tomás Hardiman, with Best Cinematography awarded to Oscar-nominated Director of Photography Robbie Ryan for his work on Element Pictures production Poor Things.

Best Live Action Short Film was awarded to Calfwhile Wind and the Shadow won Best Animated Short.

Best International Actress went to Emma Stone’s Oscar-winning turn in Poor Things, while Best International Actor went to Paul Giamatti for The Holdovers.

The Award for Best Editing went to Michael Harte for his work on feature documentary Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie.

Best Hair & Make-Up was awarded to Orla Carroll and Lynn Johnston for The Pope’s Exorcist, with Best Production Design going to John Paul Kelly for his work on Kenneth Branagh’s A Haunting in Venice.

Best Sound was awarded to Nina Rice for Barbie. Best Original Music was awarded to Neil Hannon, better known as The Divine Comedyfor his work on Andrew Legge’s unique sci-fi fable LOLA, for which Lara Campbell also won Best Costume Design.

Kev Cahill and Ben Snow won Best VFX for fantasy blockbuster Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves, which was produced in Northern Ireland.

IFTA CEO Áine Moriarty said: “This year’s Irish Academy Award winners represent the best in Irish filmmaking talent both at home and around the world, and we are delighted to honour them here tonight. From blockbuster leading roles to brilliant animated shorts, this year’s awards categories span the breadth of great Irish film and drama.”

The IFTA Awards is supported by Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland, RTE and Coimisiún na Meán, as well as industry partners.